Continue with phd or go straight to law school? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Madefix

New

Continue with phd or go straight to law school?

Post by Madefix » Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:11 pm

Currently, I'm in a phd chemistry program with research likely to be in a nano related field. I already earned by ms in chemistry 2 years ago and I have some industry experience in quality control and molecular diagnostics. I wanted to do patent law after my masters, but I decided that the job market was too bad and that I should do my phd to have abetted shot of employment. I felt a year and half of industry experience with an ms would not be sufficient.
I have talked with a patent lawyer recently at a fairly well respected law firm. He told me that I was we'll qualified to be a patent lawyer and that if I was able to pass the pat bar prior to law school, I could obtain work as a patent agent and have better job prospects over all. My question is as follows. If I take the lsat in October / December and can score 160-165 and get into a tier 2 law school, should I pursue that route? Again, my ultimate goal is patent law. While I enjoy science, it is simply too political and I don't need a phd for any other career field. Am I taking the long way around by getting a phd first, or is an ms in chemistry with some industry experience, and potentially pat bar passage, sufficient criteria to get into a decent law school and ultimately gain employment?

Kafkaesquire

Bronze

Re: Continue with phd or go straight to law school?

Post by Kafkaesquire » Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:39 pm

Madefix wrote:I already earned by ms in chemistry 2 years ago and I have some industry experience in quality control and molecular diagnostics.
I have talked with a patent lawyer recently at a fairly well respected law firm. He told me that I was we'll qualified to be a patent lawyer