offered a research assistant position 0L summer Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
zoomzoom88

Silver

offered a research assistant position 0L summer

Post by zoomzoom88 » Sun May 05, 2013 8:45 am

Well the title basically explains it all. I went to an admitted students event this week, had a great conversation with a professor, emailed them the following morning as a follow up and was asked if I wanted a 0L summer research assistant position. I am nervous, but accepted the position. I know I am at a disadvantage bc I have no formal legal experience yet, so I would love advice on how to approach research and the position

Younger Abstention

Bronze

Re: offered a research assistant position 0L summer

Post by Younger Abstention » Sun May 05, 2013 4:21 pm

Your going to need to learn how to use a legal research program of which I'd recommend Westlaw Next -- as it's the best and most user friendly program out there. Also, you're going to need to learn how to put your research into a format that your professor can use. Just do your best to learn these skills and be efficient -- the professor knows you have no prior experience and if they hire a 0L they surely know it's as much for your own benefit as it is for theirs if not more. This will give you a good leg up in your legal writing and research class.

goldeneye

Silver

Post by goldeneye » Sun May 05, 2013 4:37 pm

You shouldn't have accepted it. You're gonna be doing work that will get you nowhere and not benefit your career while doing it during your last free summer of your life. Sorry buddy but best decision I made as an OL was relaxing and traveling.

Scotusnerd

Silver

Post by Scotusnerd » Sun May 05, 2013 4:41 pm