How do asian american males fare in Biglaw? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
fumagalli

New

How do asian american males fare in Biglaw?

Post by fumagalli » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:27 pm

I'm a prospective LS student who's Asian (international) and I've heard so many stories (like, five) on how hard it is for asian males to do well in Biglaw. They say the complications come not with the work but with relationships. (probably because Biglaw is white-Jewish dominant?)

Any insight on this issue would be helpful.
Last edited by fumagalli on Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tnguy03

New

Re: How do asian american males fare in Biglaw?

Post by tnguy03 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:32 pm

The problem lies more in people thinking there is a problem with being an Asian Male than being an actual Asian Male. If you are good, sociable, and confident, it doesn't matter. If you are an Asian Male and you are worrying about being an Asian Male, then this is going to affect how you interact with people and just being a well-adjusted lawyer.

Bottom line, don't worry about it. Be normal, personable, and get your work done.

fumagalli

New

Post by fumagalli » Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:39 pm

tnguy03 wrote:The problem lies more in people thinking there is a problem with being an Asian Male than being an actual Asian Male. If you are good, sociable, and confident, it doesn't matter. If you are an Asian Male and you are worrying about being an Asian Male, then this is going to affect how you interact with people and just being a well-adjusted lawyer.

Bottom line, don't worry about it. Be normal, personable, and get your work done.