The Law School Girlfriend- Advice Wanted Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Jenna

New

The Law School Girlfriend- Advice Wanted

Post by Jenna » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:38 am

Hi there. I already went through the law school application process with my boyfriend, and he actually just started orientation for his first year yesterday. I quite honestly feel in over my head, and I can't imagine how much worse it is for him. The situation is compounded by the fact that I'm still an undergrad, and for the next two years I will primarily be living four hours away. We are together for the long haul, but I'm quite terrified because I keep reading about things that can and will go wrong. Any advice of how I can be the best law school girlfriend possible? Things to expect or warnings of what not to do? Anything would be appreciated. Thanks!

patrickd139

Gold

Re: The Law School Girlfriend- Advice Wanted

Post by patrickd139 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:45 am

IBBreakUpWithHim.

(Aside: I'm shocked it took this long before someone snatched the username 'Jenna')

dingbat

Gold

Post by dingbat » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:48 am

Why do you feel in over your head?
Orientation's barely started (depending on the school)
Just relax, and understand that 1L year has different time requirements than UG (so don't expect a call every day, let alone every few hours)

Oh, get a ring on there and pay part of his tuition, pronto (dat fat divorce settlement...)

patrickd139

Gold

Post by patrickd139 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:54 am

dingbat wrote:Oh, get a ring on there and pay part of his tuition, pronto (dat fat divorce settlement...)
El-oh-el. Hope you're not in Texas.

Jenna

New

Post by Jenna » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:58 am

I was surprised as well Patrick and thanks anyways but I'm not interested in breaking things off.