Will law school guarantee me a higher paying job? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
CM99

New

Will law school guarantee me a higher paying job?

Post by CM99 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:31 am

My fiance and I are going through this "debate" and I would greatly appreciate some input from you all (specially recent graduates).

I'm a 30 year old female located in Texas. I had an interest in law school but coming from a very poor immigrant family (we also didn't have our permanent residency at that time), it wasn't a good option at that time. I graduated with a B.B.A. in 2004 (concentration Marketing). At that time, I was still waiting to receive my work permit. As a result, I had 0 work/internship experience. I finally managed to get a entry level job with a advertising agency in 2006. Worked for 2 years and was then laid off thanks to a massive layoff in the company.

After a year of trying to find something else in that field, last year, I decided to enter a paralegal certificate program. I finished the certificate program and started working for a law firm 6 months ago as a legal assistant (I get paid $28,000). Had a very hard time finding a better paying job.....once again due to no work experience.

My fiance is a M.D. (we're getting married early next year). For the past few months, he's been strongly encouraging me to go to law school. According to him, his main "concern" is that if something ever happens to him....he lfeels that having a law degree will help me find a MUCH BETTER paying job than my current situation. He thinks this will give us (me and his kids) more "security" if something happens to him.