Too late? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Too late?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon May 08, 2023 9:30 am

Hi. I’m wondering if it’s too late for me to clerk in a district court. A few facts:
  • I graduated from S or Y in middle of last decade.
  • Not sure where I ranked because Y/S. Definitely not great.
  • I had several d. court interviews as a 2L, but struck out. IMHO, I fucked up my interviews because of extenuating circumstances I can’t get into here. But perhaps if I had better grades, that might have compensated. I’m generally a decent interviewee, I think, based on other professional achievements, but who knows.
  • I have been working in public interest since graduation. A bit of civil litigation, several years in a field that’s more niche.
  • Because public interest, clerking for a year would not be a huge financial sacrifice and could conceivably help me “level up” to bigger/better paying public interest organizations in the future.
  • I know and have good relationships with two judges who were recently appointed by Biden, but I think they’d still be evaluating me on my merits and not just letting me coast on the relationships.