When to Stop Applying to Clerkships Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

When to Stop Applying to Clerkships

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Jun 23, 2022 11:55 pm

I graduated just outside the top 10% at a lower T-14 in 2020, have applied to 80+ judges over the span of two years, have gotten two circuit court interviews, two competitive district court interviews, and 0 offers. At this point I'm considering giving up trying to clerk, staying at my biglaw job for now, and then trying to transition to government in 1-4 years. Clerking is not a pre-requisite for the government position I'm interested in, although I'm sure clerking is still a credential the agency values.

Is 0 offers after 4 interviews normal, or does it suggest that there's something wrong with my interviewing skills/likability with judges? I'm tired of the constant rejection and am not sure clerking will even make or break my career. Am I being foolish for giving up?

Anonymous User

Re: When to Stop Applying to Clerkships

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:14 am

Could be random, I did eight interviews (for two clerkships) and went zero for four, then four for four

My primary question is that 80 judges over two cycles is not many. You may have geographic constraints at this point, but you should be hitting 100 per cycle ideally. Also maybe consider expanding to your SSC.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jun 24, 2022 5:29 am