Unsure Whether To Keep Applying/Interviewing for Clerkships Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Unsure Whether To Keep Applying/Interviewing for Clerkships

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jun 13, 2022 10:11 am

Hello! I know this isn't 100% the best place to ask this question, but since there are basically zero places online to ask advice about legal academia, I figure I'd try here since my dilemma involves clerkships.

I graduated law school back in 2021, and have been doing a PI fellowship since then in my interest area. My ultimate goal is legal academia. I've published a few pieces (my latest being an article in a T25 law review), and have a few more in the works. During 2022-23, I'll be clerking on a federal district court.

I've been gearing up to apply for academic fellowships this fall, all of which would begin in the fall of 2023. I'll be pretty much blanket applying to all the big ones (think Climenko, Bigelow, Sharswood, etc.). I have a good deal of support from my recommenders, and while I don't have a PhD I think my research agenda will be pretty sound by the time I apply. All in all, I'm pretty excited to get my name out there, even if the chances of getting one of the fellowships is low.