current MJ clerk - worth clerking with DJ after? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

current MJ clerk - worth clerking with DJ after?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Nov 04, 2021 1:11 pm

I am currently clerking with an MJ in a middle-of-nowhere federal district. It is a two-year clerkship. I have some litigation experience from a couple years in legal aid prior to clerking, and went to a T14, but my grades were nothing special. I want to work for the federal government afterwards, hopefully something like CFPB or DOL, or maybe a state AG doing civil enforcement work. Given these stats and these goals, would it be worth it to clerk again, with a DJ, in a region I don't want to work afterwards?

Let me know if there's any other info that would be helpful...

Anonymous User

Re: current MJ clerk - worth clerking with DJ after?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Nov 04, 2021 2:29 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Thu Nov 04, 2021 1:11 pm
I am currently clerking with an MJ in a middle-of-nowhere federal district. It is a two-year clerkship. I have some litigation experience from a couple years in legal aid prior to clerking, and went to a T14, but my grades were nothing special. I want to work for the federal government afterwards, hopefully something like CFPB or DOL, or maybe a state AG doing civil enforcement work. Given these stats and these goals, would it be worth it to clerk again, with a DJ, in a region I don't want to work afterwards?