Apply as a lateral or clerk? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Apply as a lateral or clerk?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:41 pm

I am looking at different firm websites for post-clerkship hiring and it looks like many firms have a specific portal for judicial clerk applicants, and a separate one for laterals. I have a little under 2 years of biglaw experience before clerking (but my firm can't guarantee me an offer back, which is why I'm considering going elsewhere if possible), and am not sure if I should apply as a clerk or lateral? Would it be more advantageous in terms of landing a job applying as one vs. another?

Anonymous User

Re: Apply as a lateral or clerk?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 11, 2021 6:23 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Sat Sep 11, 2021 5:41 pm
I am looking at different firm websites for post-clerkship hiring and it looks like many firms have a specific portal for judicial clerk applicants, and a separate one for laterals. I have a little under 2 years of biglaw experience before clerking (but my firm can't guarantee me an offer back, which is why I'm considering going elsewhere if possible), and am not sure if I should apply as a clerk or lateral? Would it be more advantageous in terms of landing a job applying as one vs. another?