Post-clerkship hiring question Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Post-clerkship hiring question

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Aug 08, 2021 11:21 pm

I'm a 2020 graduate about to start a District Court clerkship in the market I want to practice in long-term (which is also my hometown). The market is notoriously insular and I went to undergrad and to a T6 law school out-of-state. Because I knew I wanted to return, I spent both law school summers in the market--one at a non-profit and the other at one of the two "best" big law firms in the city. But I didn't come back for my first year out of law school because I got offered a great fellowship in DC working on public interest litigation. Since I didn't go back to the firm, I'm concerned that I may have burned the only real pre-existing bridge I had to the legal community in this market (the place I spent my 1L summer is wonderful but tiny and almost never has open positions). After I finish this clerkship, I'll be moving out of state again for a Circuit Court clerkship in, unfortunately, a different circuit.