Another District Court Clerkship? Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Fort Kickass

New

Another District Court Clerkship?

Post by Fort Kickass » Thu Aug 06, 2020 12:02 am

I'm currently clerking for a district judge in Atlanta. I practiced for a year at a midsize firm in NYC before clerking and I graduated with very good (but not spectacular) grades from a T7-T9. My term expires at the end of this month and I don't have anything lined up yet. I've been applying to firms in NYC (biglaw, boutiques, and some mid-size firms), as well as circuit court clerkships (2020 and 2021 terms, though there is basically nothing left for 2020 at this point).

I'm getting pretty nervous that I'll have nothing, because I understand the market is NYC is beyond abysmal right now and may not get better for a while. I'm wondering if it would be smart to weather the storm and apply for another district court clerkship; I see there a few available, including one in the 11th Circuit (S.D. Fla.); I figure I'd have a decent shot at one in the circuit in which I'm clerking. My judge (whom I have a good relationship with) wouldn't let me renew.

Good idea? Am I being illogically scared about the market? Would doing another district court clerkship be hurtful to my career (I'd still want a circuit court clerkship and thereafter go practice lit at a firm). I appreciate any feedback. Thanks and I hope y'all are staying safe.

lavarman84

Platinum