Please give me the brutal truth whether I should even apply Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Hdod38

New

Please give me the brutal truth whether I should even apply

Post by Hdod38 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:47 pm

Biglaw litigation, couple years in and need a break. I'm a T14 grad without good grades or latin honors (3.4ish gpa).

Would I be wasting my time filling out apps for fed dist court and state supreme? Any specialty courts I'd stand a better chance at?

I don't want to go through the process if I'm just wasting my time and I figure you kids would have a good handle on it.

Thanks.

ArtistOfManliness

Silver

Re: Please give me the brutal truth whether I should even apply

Post by ArtistOfManliness » Wed Sep 28, 2016 11:31 pm

Geographic connections and/or desires?

Hdod38

New

Post by Hdod38 » Wed Sep 28, 2016 11:39 pm

I'm from the midwest and all the ties that I have are here. Of course, if I could actually get an AIII clerkship I'd go anywhere in the country.

My desire leaving a clerkship would be to go to a smaller firm or do government work.

hdivschool

Bronze

Post by hdivschool » Thu Sep 29, 2016 12:09 am

I think it's worth applying. Your application doesn't jump out of the pile though, so recommendations would help. But you might get lucky.
b

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 29, 2016 1:47 am