Take Flyover Interview, or Keep Trying Elsewhere Forum

(Seek and share information about clerkship applications, clerkship hiring timelines, and post-clerkship employment opportunities)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about clerkship applications and clerkship hiring. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Take Flyover Interview, or Keep Trying Elsewhere

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:10 pm

I'm a recent graduate from MVP, top ~10%ish. (Probably just below the cutoff.) Will soon be working at a V5. I have prior extremely interesting work experience (from an interview standpoint, not a qualification standpoint). No science background. I have a spouse and a kid.

I've been applying for clerkships for the 2015 term. I'd like to do both a district- and circuit-court clerkship, if the stars align. So far, I've had four interviews. Three were in fairly desirable to desirable districts (think EDNY/NDIL/CDCA/EDVA/EDPA). One was in an extremely desirable circuit (think DC/2/9). Three dings, one still outstanding after two-and-a-half months. The first large batch of clerkship applications had a noticeable typo in the writing sample. (Word relettered an outline, and multiple eyes—of course including mine, many, many times, failed to see it.)

I recently received an interview request from a district in my home state, which is a flyover district, for a two-year clerkship. Given the way the judge hires, I have a better shot of getting a clerkship with this judge than I had with the other district court judges.