1L internships for T14 Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
philo-sophia

Bronze

1L internships for T14

Post by philo-sophia » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:09 pm

who offers them and how do you get them?

I know i want BigLaw, probably in NYC or LA (i used to say i wouldn't go back to NYC but i've started to miss it and i feel like that's where the action is...anyway...i digress). I have some work experience in finance and consulting and i'm going to Duke this fall. Are there BigLaw firms that are particularly conducive to hiring 1L's? My guess is that there will be some lower ranking firms who want to establish relationships with higher ranking schools and will therefore consider 1L's. I know Paul Hastings and White & Case accept 1L applications but W&C says it's rare that they hire 1L's. It would be particularly helpful if someone currently attending a lower T14 could offer some insights as to which firms i might want to start looking into for next year.

Also, is it easier or harder to get a 1L internship abroad? I was thinking about doing Duke's summer program in Hong Kong or Geneve and seeing if i could finish my summer with an internship in Asia or Europe. A friend of mine just moved into HR at Paul Hastings in Hong Kong so maybe she could help hook me up? Any thoughts or experience regarding such a scenario?

philo-sophia

Bronze

Re: 1L internships for T14

Post by philo-sophia » Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:51 am

69 views and no responses? Somebody knows something and isn't talking...condor? Ken?

thedogship

Bronze

Post by thedogship » Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:43 pm