C- in Torts... Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
worfsonofmogh

New

C- in Torts...

Post by worfsonofmogh » Mon Jan 11, 2021 4:27 pm

I'm devastated to be honest.. I studied my ass off, went to office hours, got a tutor, took four practice exams and I still ended up with an abysmal C- on my final torts exam.

The worst part is I thought that my torts exam was the best exam I wrote.. Now i'm afraid to get the rest of my test scores tomorrow. Excuse my french, but am I fucked career wise? Suppose I end up with C's all around for my first semester, but I really pull through and end up with A's and B's for the rest of my law school lifespan, could that overwrite my monumental fuck up last fall?

I've never been this depressed in my life.

Any advice is welcome and needed..

crazywafflez

Silver

Re: C- in Torts...

Post by crazywafflez » Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:08 pm

Do you like law? Do you want to be an attorney? What are your career goals (i.e., do you want criminal law, cause if so, the DAs office in Tucson won't really care you did poorly in torts)? What range rank of school do you go to?
These questions will be the most important. If you are at like a T2 school where median is 2.8 or something, you'll be fine on that front (and I assume you already knew that your chances of biglaw were limited anyways from entering that rank of school). You'll need to rub elbows with folks regardless unless you were top of your class. The small firm in Biloxi, MS, wasn't gonna care if you got a C- in torts or a B; they want to know you're from the sipp, plan to stay and are a decent human being.
If you are at a T14, you're also still fine, you'll probs still land biglaw even bottom of your class as long as you didn't fail courses.