1L Summer - Public Interest or Fed District Court? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
spglasses

New

1L Summer - Public Interest or Fed District Court?

Post by spglasses » Fri Mar 20, 2020 8:46 pm

Hi, all.

I have to choose between these two options.

One is NYC, the other is in LA. I'm not sure if the PI organization is especially reputable (it has a pretty legit Wikipedia page tho). I don't have ties to either city. Which one would look better come OCI if my goal is generic big law?

In terms of development as a lawyer, I think the PI gig would be better because Id get a lot of facetime with clients and the department culture seems to be very proactive and passionate. But, Im not sure if Id get as much or as diverse research and writing experience as I would if I were to work in a court chambers.

Id appreciate anything thoughts and insight.

dvlthndr

Bronze

Re: 1L Summer - Public Interest or Fed District Court?

Post by dvlthndr » Sat Mar 21, 2020 3:30 am

If you are applying for a generic biglaw litigation/corporate position, what really matters is (1) grades; and (2) your ability to hold a conversation like a normal human being. Nobody really expects you to gain meaningful skills during a ~10 week stint during the summer. Whatever you do will wind up being little more than interview fodder, so go with what you would enjoy most.

But if you are really hemming and hawing, my totally uninformed opinion is that working for a judge is an opportunity afforded to relatively few people. It strikes me as a little more prestigious, and there is value in seeing how cases actually proceed and develop over time. By comparison, there will probably be other chances to be involved in pro-bono and get facetime with "clients" during law school (via externships, clinics, clubs, etc.)

commonlaw

New

Post by commonlaw » Sun Mar 22, 2020 2:53 am