Tips from a top law school graduate Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
jessjaneeve

New

Tips from a top law school graduate

Post by jessjaneeve » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:01 am

Hi everyone,

I graduated in the top 10 (not top 10%, literally top 10) of my cohort at one of the top 15 law schools in the world, according to this list: http://www.topuniversities.com/universi ... al-studies. I was one of the few who graded onto law review and I was one of those crazy overachievers who graduated a semester early. I am currently working in the largest law firm in the city.

Here are my simple tips on how to do well in law school:

1) Read hornbooks. Whatever your lecturers may have said about the Socratic method, it sucks: http://abovethelaw.com/2014/06/former-l ... -teaching/. Don't bother reading full cases for those "meandering discussions that often have no real point and leave students even more confused than before". Hornbooks are effective because they are written by lecturers who explain key cases succinctly.

2) Get awesome outlines and update them or write your own. Make sure they don't waffle on, but contain just the essentials of cases: the facts, the issues, the rules/principles, and the holding (who wins).

3) Focus on your application of the rules to the hypothetical facts, analogising or distinguishing with key cases. See a law professor's examples of bad and good ways of applying the law to the facts: http://volokh.com/posts/1168382003.shtml.

4) (If you have done steps 1-3) Profit. Make law review. Break into biglaw. Write this post on TLS.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions! 8)
Last edited by jessjaneeve on Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

mjb447

Silver

Re: Tips from a top law school graduate

Post by mjb447 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 10:18 am

Thanks for these hot tips.

UVA2B

Gold

Post by UVA2B » Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:10 am

#hottakes