International students ...what are your summer plans? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
liz102

New

International students ...what are your summer plans?

Post by liz102 » Sat Jan 12, 2008 10:59 pm

I am a first year law student and considering working abroad this summer in London/ or doing a summer research internship. I have been told that it is not wise for international J.D students to consider applying for summer associate positions with law firmsin their first year because of OPT. Are there internatonal students who have appiled for summer associate positions regardless of the OPT timeline? Would appreciate any advice...

liz102

New

Re: International students ...what are your summer plans?

Post by liz102 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:11 pm

any one?

orangeswarm

Bronze

Post by orangeswarm » Sun Jan 13, 2008 4:17 pm

I have been told that it is not wise for international J.D students to consider applying for summer associate positions with law firmsin their first year because of OPT.
What does OPT stand for?

liz102

New

Post by liz102 » Sun Jan 13, 2008 9:52 pm

Optional Practical Training Program. It gives international J.D students the option to work in the US for one year after graduating. It seems there are hardly any international J D students on this website...o well...

NewHere

Bronze

Post by NewHere » Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:04 am

I'm trying to get a job in the US, despite the OPT. (For the non-internationals: an F-1 student visa allows 1 year of work in the US after graduation, without having to apply for a work visa. Any work done during summer periods before graduation is subtracted from that year.) My reasons:

1. If a firm or organization will want to hire me after graduation, at some point they'll have to do the visa application anyway. It's not so important whether that will be after a year or after six months.