1L study schedule Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
PotLuck

Bronze

1L study schedule

Post by PotLuck » Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:57 pm

Hey Guys,

I have one more question. In terms of my study schedule, I want to make sure I'm studying the right things.

Right now my schedule is:

M/W
8am Read for classes wednesday
10:00am class
12:00pm lunch/prepare for next class
1:00pm Class
3:00pm Read for Wednesday or next monday classes.
6:30pm LEEWS/GTM
7:00pm No more law school stuff

T/TR
8:30a Class
10:30a Class
12:00p Lunch/prepare for next class
1:20p Class
3:00p Read for thursday or next tuesday
7:00p No more law school stuff

My weekends consists of about 4-6 hours each studying what I learned in classes and reading supplements. Should I be using my weekends instead getting ahead on my weekly reading? A friend suggested I do ALL of the reading as early and quickly as possible so I can spend the 2nd half of each class focusing on nothing but the final. Has anyone tried this?

In your opinions is this an effective study schedule? If not, do you guys have any suggestions? I looked at the guides and only one of them had a real schedule posted.

Thanks!

Bronck

Gold

Re: 1L study schedule

Post by Bronck » Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:48 pm

Do whatever works for you. It doesn't really matter as long as you stay consistent. I did all my readings over the weekend, did nothing during the week, and started outlining a little before Thanksgiving first semester 1L year and did well.

andythefir

Silver

Post by andythefir » Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:07 pm

The nuts and bolts don't really matter as long as you don't fall behind, although I like to break it up weekends/weekdays. Weekdays are for reading/class, weekends are for legal writing/outlining/upper level paper writing. Also, building in time for supplements is only useful if you don't understand a concept or are doing practice problems (CALI/Q&A).