Length of law review articles Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
MarkRenton

Bronze

Length of law review articles

Post by MarkRenton » Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:24 pm

As a recent graduate I've thought about sending some of my seminar papers out to law reviews and other journals in hopes of publishing. What's the general minimum accepted length of an article to qualify as a law review article? While many (most?) articles are incredibly verbose and far exceed the preferable length, it seems like one should shoot for at least 20K words, including footnotes. Would everyone with knowledge on this agree? I've also seemed some evidence that maybe 15K is sufficient. Any thoughts or observations are appreciated.

SemperLegal

Silver

Re: Length of law review articles

Post by SemperLegal » Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:18 pm

MarkRenton wrote:As a recent graduate I've thought about sending some of my seminar papers out to law reviews and other journals in hopes of publishing. What's the general minimum accepted length of an article to qualify as a law review article? While many (most?) articles are incredibly verbose and far exceed the preferable length, it seems like one should shoot for at least 20K words, including footnotes. Would everyone with knowledge on this agree? I've also seemed some evidence that maybe 15K is sufficient. Any thoughts or observations are appreciated.

Sorry I dont have a word count, but 99% of the submissions I read were between 30-40 pages.

MarkRenton

Bronze

Post by MarkRenton » Sun Aug 11, 2013 6:37 pm

Are you referring to student notes or comments?

Addendum: I'm hoping not to publish an actual article, not a note or comment.

SemperLegal

Silver

Post by SemperLegal » Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:06 pm

MarkRenton wrote:Are you referring to student notes or comments?

Addendum: I'm hoping not to publish an actual article, not a note or comment.