Quick Civ Pro Question Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Korematsu

New

Quick Civ Pro Question

Post by Korematsu » Sun Apr 21, 2013 9:18 pm

This probably sounds stupid to you guys but I am studying and I am having trouble determining if the court would have jurisdiction over the defendant on this hypo:

P (Alaska domicile) v. D (Massachusetts domicile)
Claim for battery occurring in Colorado in California state court.
D owns a residence in California & employs California residents to maintain the property.

Assuming D receives proper service in California, Does California have jurisdiction over the D as a result of his California "residence," even though he is domiciled in Massachusetts and the battery happened outside of California?

dietcoke0

Silver

Re: Quick Civ Pro Question

Post by dietcoke0 » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:51 pm

Dude got served in Cali? Should be all you need bro. Doesn't matter about his residence (which would usually not be a factor if I remember correctly.

hephaestus

Gold

Post by hephaestus » Mon Apr 22, 2013 12:55 am

I don't think there's PJ in this situation post Connecticut v. Doehr. This is a quasi in rem type 2 action unrelated to a claim from the property, so Dubin v. Philadelphia doesn't apply.
This is for a long arm statute. Didn't see in person service in the OP.
Last edited by hephaestus on Mon Apr 22, 2013 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Redamon1

Bronze

Post by Redamon1 » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:05 am

dietcoke0 wrote:Dude got served in Cali? Should be all you need bro. Doesn't matter about his residence (which would usually not be a factor if I remember correctly.
My recollection as well.

Korematsu

New

Post by Korematsu » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:37 am