bad writing:( Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
sbl274

New

bad writing:(

Post by sbl274 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:29 pm

So, officially, after two exams, i am pretty sure i'm a terrible writer, at least on law school exams. i read over my exam and in several instances just left random words out of sentences, and just had a choppy and awkward style throughout. any 2L/3L care to weigh in on the relative importance of writing style and flat-out omissions? thanks!

MinEMorris

Bronze

Re: bad writing:(

Post by MinEMorris » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Given the extraordinary time pressure involved in law school exams, I've never heard of a professor giving any actual weight to style, spelling, or grammar. Of course, poor style, spelling, and grammar can obfuscate your points and make it less likely that your professor will understand what you're trying to say, which may in turn lead to you being awarded less points than you deserve, but so long as what you're trying to say is relatively clear, I wouldn't worry about it at all. Really, most people's law school exams are full of missing words, new sentences starting in the middle of old sentences, gross spelling errors, etc. This is extremely natural and not anything to worry about.

Of course, if you're submitting some sort of take-home paper, that's another matter.

northwood

Platinum

Post by northwood » Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:43 pm

sbl274 wrote:So, officially, after two exams, i am pretty sure i'm a terrible writer, at least on law school exams. i read over my exam and in several instances just left random words out of sentences, and just had a choppy and awkward style throughout. any 2L/3L care to weigh in on the relative importance of writing style and flat-out omissions? thanks!