Vocabulary Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
farszandian

New

Vocabulary

Post by farszandian » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:47 pm

Hey all! I'm a 0L. Does anyone know where I can find a good cache of must-know legal terms going into 1L? I don't want to be sitting in class and not know what "pro se", for example, means. I'd appreciate any help!

reasonable_man

Gold

Re: Vocabulary

Post by reasonable_man » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:53 pm

Hi yall. I'm a third year attorney and I'd like to know about this list also, as I avoid legal-speak like the fucking black death.

Op. Please don't worry about this. You'll learn the nifty lingo in due time.

mths

Silver

Post by mths » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:57 pm

farszandian wrote:Hey all! I'm a 0L. Does anyone know where I can find a good cache of must-know legal terms going into 1L? I don't want to be sitting in class and not know what "pro se", for example, means. I'd appreciate any help!
<--- learned what pro se was about 4 weeks ago

no.big.deal

t3hevildonut

New

Post by t3hevildonut » Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:04 pm

eandy

Gold

Post by eandy » Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:19 pm

All you need to do is when you're reading a case and you come across a word you don't know, go look at Black's Law Dictionary and copy the definition into your notes. Keep a running vocab page if you like. A lot of times professors will look to see if people looked up words like that during class.

You don't need to learn them now.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

goodolgil

Silver

Post by goodolgil » Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:58 pm

I did not use a legal dictionary once during 1L. If I didn't know a word I either Googled it (and could usually tell what the word means a couple of seconds after Googling) or tried to figure it out myself based on context/waited for the professor to explain it.