Attorney trying to become an officer (not a JAG) Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
cornelpa

New

Attorney trying to become an officer (not a JAG)

Post by cornelpa » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:09 am

This is regarding an attorney trying to become a regular officer (not a JAG because JAGs have about an 8% acceptance rate). I have a law degree and like so many solo attorneys I'm making around $20k/year with no healthcare or retirement. I was prior enlisted in the Army reserves for 6 years and 5 veterans preferance points. The FBI is on a hiring freeze and my eyesight might not be good enough for the Secret Service. I graduated in the bottom half of my class in law school, so JAG is probably not an option (unless being prior enlisted dramatically helps me get into Army JAG, does anyone know that answer?). So I'm considering becoming a regular officer, but I just turned 32, so I believe Navy and Marines aren't an option. I could waive into Army. My gpa in undergrad in accounting was almost 3.2 but my gpa in law school was 2.8. I've heard to get into Air Force officer, you have to have a medical/computer/engineer degree or be way above a 3.5 gpa. But I've only read opinions about people with bachelors trying to get into officers, and I haven't heard of the chances for attorneys. I know officers start at around $40,000 with food and housing and retirement benefits and one-month of vacation each year, and 20 years later officers make around $120k as majors or colonels, so I'm interested. Does anyone know whether my law gpa gets averaged into my undergrad and hurt me, or does the law degree help, or do you have to have a technical degree to get into AF officer? Any advice would help (and please don't say why can't you get a job in accounting because I've applied to 2,000 accounting jobs this past year, and even some engineer jobs posted on monster.com get 400 applicants).

hasmith