Recent law grad with a job taking questions Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Jessep

New

Recent law grad with a job taking questions

Post by Jessep » Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:55 am

With law school starting up, I thought I'd give back however I could after being a longtime lurker.

I graduated in May in the top 10% from a school outside of tier 1 (I'd rather not get more specific), am deferred from a vault firm in a major market, and enjoying my time in between.

Happy to answer any questions while protecting my anonymity.
Last edited by Jessep on Sun Aug 15, 2010 8:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

concurrent fork

Silver

Re: Recent law grad taking questions

Post by concurrent fork » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:00 am

How lucky do you feel to be c/o 2010 rather than 2011?

Jessep

New

Post by Jessep » Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:18 am

Pretty damn lucky. There's a good shot that I would not have gotten a summer associate gig had I been apart of the class of 2011. For anyone who is considering law school, I'd recommend holding off an extra year. The market is getting better, but there is much uncertainty and hiring will probably be better each year for the next several years. Of course, there's a chance of a double-dip recession, but I certainly wouldn't rush off to law school to try to beat it.

chicagolaw2013

Silver

Post by chicagolaw2013 » Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:29 am

Hey man, what market are you in? I know you don't want to divulge what school you're at, but knowing where you're going to be practicing would be helpful. Thanks.

dakatz

Gold

Post by dakatz » Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:34 am

What is your best advice for doing well in law school? Or what do you know now that you wish you had known before you started law school?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Jessep

New

Post by Jessep » Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:48 pm