basic math question Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
handlebutton

New

basic math question

Post by handlebutton » Sun May 30, 2010 12:02 am

If top 15% gets A for Class 1
If top 15% gets A for Class 2
Then if student gets two A's, what % of the class is he in - for sure?
Is it 7.5% or something like that? Sorry, I majored in history and I'm not sure how this works.

Mrs. Jack Donaghy

New

Re: basic math question

Post by Mrs. Jack Donaghy » Sun May 30, 2010 12:07 am

is said student only taking those two classes?

handlebutton

New

Post by handlebutton » Sun May 30, 2010 12:12 am

I'm trying to answer this question for 4 law school classes, of course, but I'm reducing n to 2 so I can get an answer to the question.

Leeroy Jenkins

Silver

Post by Leeroy Jenkins » Sun May 30, 2010 12:14 am

top 15%

handlebutton

New

Post by handlebutton » Sun May 30, 2010 12:16 am

Top 15% is the only "for sure" answer, I think. The person could be the top-ranked kid in the two classes if no other student got both A's, so he could be top 1% or whatever, but the worst he could be is top 15%

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

Mrs. Jack Donaghy

New

Post by Mrs. Jack Donaghy » Sun May 30, 2010 12:32 am

handlebutton wrote:Top 15% is the only "for sure" answer, I think. The person could be the top-ranked kid in the two classes if no other student got both A's, so he could be top 1% or whatever, but the worst he could be is top 15%
titcr.

thesealocust

Platinum

Post by thesealocust » Sun May 30, 2010 12:38 am

edited / never mind
Last edited by thesealocust on Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

johnstuartmill

Bronze

Post by johnstuartmill » Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:54 am