thinking about quitting Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
notyou

New

thinking about quitting

Post by notyou » Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:19 pm

Anyone else thinking about quitting law school after their 1L year? I've been unlucky in an internship search and it's been really discouraging. I go to a T1 and have decent grades (probably just outside top 25%), but I question my marketability since I can't even get a summer internship.

I used to be an Electrical Engineer and there's a huge demand for my technical skills, so I'm thinking that I should just abandon law and go back to engineering.

Anyone else contemplating the same thing? Does not getting an internship lead to further difficulties for the 2L internship?

Dr. Review

Gold

Re: thinking about quitting

Post by Dr. Review » Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:44 pm

notyou wrote:Anyone else thinking about quitting law school after their 1L year? I've been unlucky in an internship search and it's been really discouraging. I go to a T1 and have decent grades (probably just outside top 25%), but I question my marketability since I can't even get a summer internship.

I used to be an Electrical Engineer and there's a huge demand for my technical skills, so I'm thinking that I should just abandon law and go back to engineering.

Anyone else contemplating the same thing? Does not getting an internship lead to further difficulties for the 2L internship?
I know a corporate in-house guy who transferred from part to full time after 1L, and as a result took summer classes throughout the rest of law school, thereby removing his ability to do summer internships, and he didn't seem too put off about it, and he's done pretty well for himself. He also was at a T1 outside of the T14.

noname086

New

Post by noname086 » Thu Apr 08, 2010 10:49 pm