UPenn vs. NYU Forum

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
daishak

New

UPenn vs. NYU

Post by daishak » Sun Jul 19, 2020 8:56 am

Hey all,

This is my first time posting so I apologize for any errors in presentation or formatting. I have been accepted at both Upenn and NYU and am trying to decide between the two. I am leaning towrds Upenn because of the smaller class size and its a little less expensive. However, I ultimately want to end up in NY, while Upenn very successfully places students in NY, NYU presents an edge in this area. Is there a different way I should approach this call?

namefromplace

Bronze

Re: UPenn vs. NYU

Post by namefromplace » Sun Jul 19, 2020 1:07 pm

Seems like you have the right idea on things. NYU will be a bit easier to get into NY biglaw from, but UPenn can also get you there pretty easily. To me the advantages of NYU are higher clerkship placement and better PI connections, but if your goal is generic NYC transactional BigLaw there's less of an advantage there. Another advantage of NYU is, because it's in NY, you could more easily get a strong 1L summer placement or government externship (i.e. SEC, maybe SDNY).

AdieuCali

Bronze

Post by AdieuCali » Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:48 pm