Transferring Part Way Through 2L Year Forum

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Transferring Part Way Through 2L Year

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:23 pm

I am a student at Florida law school. I enjoy law school for the most part, but I had a pretty rough 1L year. My grades were not excellent (2.7 GPA), and it has severely limited my employment options. The school itself is fantastic in terms of location and student body, however, I don't think this university is going to help get to where I need to go. My dream is to become a law school professor, and my school doesn't produce many educators of that kind. Given the current state of my GPA, should I take some time off? Should I perhaps try to apply to an MA program in a related field (e.g., bioethics) and then resume my legal studies at a higher ranked institution? Should I complete my JD at my current school, and then look at other programs that will help me reach my goal of becoming a professor. I appreciate the input!

arklaw13

Gold

Re: Transferring Part Way Through 2L Year

Post by arklaw13 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:31 pm