Advice for Targeting DC? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice for Targeting DC?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 24, 2023 4:00 pm

I'm a rising 2L - approx. top 1/4 at a T25, want to do litigation and really think I'll enjoy doing trial work if that's viable.

Will be working in D.C. this summer so will try and network/attend firm receptions/connect with alumni as much as possible. But, given that I'm a first gen student and my CDO is not super helpful, I was hoping others could chime in as to which firms would be realistic targets for someone of my profile, that have a strong litigation practice/ability to get experience early on, and decently good rep with regards to culture?

Thanks so much in advance!

Anonymous User

Re: Advice for Targeting DC?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 24, 2023 4:50 pm

Just looked at the rankings and it looks like the current T25 is UGA, WashU, BYU, Ohio State, UF, UNC, and Wake.

I think its very unlikely that top 1/4 gets DC big law without some other factor (IP, URM, connections, etc.). It's certainly possible but DC is a very competitive market even for students from T14 schools with good grades. Top 1/4 at my lower t14 is far from a guarantee in DC.

I would look at firms towards the lower end of the AMLaw 200 and mid law firms. You may have a shot at a firm like Venable or Crowell if you make good connections but I think it's going to be tough and you should look into other, less competitive markets as well if you're set on big law.