Prospects for AUSA to go back to biglaw? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Prospects for AUSA to go back to biglaw?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 17, 2023 7:10 am

I’m a HYS grad with feeder clerkship experiences. About two years ago I joined a USAO as a criminal AUSA, coming from a top firm in the nearby metro; I left my firm on good terms. I was encouraged to apply to a top USAO. But owing to personal circumstances, I was looking only at what I thought was a good office at what would probably be considered a non-major USAO within commuting distance of a large legal market. Think, like, D. Conn. to NYC, but not somewhere totally random like D.S.D. (no offense to them). My goal was to return to biglaw at some point.

Long story short, after a while at the USAO and seeing the trajectory of others in the office, I’m getting concerned I’ve boxed myself in and the exit opportunities aren’t what I thought they were. It doesn’t help that my resume is a bit of an outlier in the office. I know there are partners in Biglaw from my USAO but that seems to be the exception, not the rule. I’m wondering if I should try to consider a move to another government position in the very near future; stick it out for another year or two and try to go to a firm as a partner-track counsel; or stick it out for several more years to try to get leadership experience and then seek to go to a firm as partner. But I worry the longer I try to stay, the more sunk costs I’m accruing.