Is it too early to go to the USAO? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Is it too early to go to the USAO?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Mar 29, 2023 6:01 pm

I've just been offered appointment as AUSA in a district with a sizeable population in a large state but not one of the banner districts. Think a step below SDNY, EDNY, NDCA, CDCA, DDC EDVA etc.. but not a fly over in Kansas. Before I got the offer I thought it was a no brainer but I'm having second thoughts.

I graduated below median from a T14 in 2021 and have been working at a big firm known for litigation. I'd always planned to spend 5 years in BL then go to a USAO but a mentor of mine told me now is a good time to make a move given that DOJ has the money and is looking to add bodies.

Given I've only spent a year and a half in BL, I don't have as much money saved as I'd like, so taking that pay cut is going to set me back a little bit. I've started to wonder if it makes sense for me to decline the offer and reapply after 1-2 years of diligent saving.

So my question is two fold:

1) what are the pros and cons of leaving big law early to go the government?

2) is rejecting the offer a faux pas the way it is in clerkships?

3) Is it possible, given my low GPA, this will be my only chance?

Thanks

VirginiaFan

New

Re: Is it too early to go to the USAO?

Post by VirginiaFan » Wed Mar 29, 2023 6:22 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Wed Mar 29, 2023 6:01 pm