Skipped OCI from HYSCCN - considering options Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Skipped OCI from HYSCCN - considering options

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 17, 2022 12:53 pm

I am not particularly interested in big law- I am an older student who went back to law school after having a pretty fulfilling career. Currently at a top 6 school and skipped OCI, because I did not want to work at a giant company, grinding my life away. I will not have any debt when I graduate. I went to an Ivy for undergrad which has a good network in the legal world as well.

I mostly interested in JD advantage positions but if I do pursue traditional practice, I am most interested in Trust and Estate planning, maybe litigation.

I'm sort of feeling lost- where do I go from here? How do I find more boutique firms/practices in trust and estates? I am happy to net work, cold email etc.

I have had these conversations with our career office, but they pressured me heavily into participating in OCI and I feel like I left things in an awkward place when I said I was not going to do it.

Open to all thoughts, comments, brainstorming etc..
Thanks in advance.

Anonymous User

Re: Skipped OCI from HYSCCN - considering options

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 17, 2022 7:27 pm