Big4 Transaction Tax to Big Law Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
DmacShow

New

Big4 Transaction Tax to Big Law

Post by DmacShow » Sat Sep 10, 2022 8:29 pm

I am looking to make the move from the Big4 to Big Law. I am currently a Manager at the Big4 on a transaction tax team (tax diligence and structuring) for private equity/corporate clients on M&A transactions. I came to the Big4 straight out of law school and have been at the same firm since graduating 4 years ago. Obviously passed the bar and have maintained bar credentials.

Curious as to anyone’s experience moving from the Big4 to a Big Law firm from transaction tax. Mainly looking at Big Law roles on either the tax, private equity, or M&A teams.

Anonymous User

Re: Big4 Transaction Tax to Big Law

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 10, 2022 8:35 pm

If you want biglaw more than anything, then Exec comp is the best way to break in. You won’t break into a PE/M&A team straight from big4 unless you know someone. Tax is also difficult because of the limited number of spots. Exec comp is always hiring, and they seem to take M&A tax folks from big4 regularly.

DmacShow

New

Post by DmacShow » Sat Sep 10, 2022 8:48 pm

DmacShow wrote:
Sat Sep 10, 2022 8:29 pm