Class year downgrade Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
NyuIwantu

New

Class year downgrade

Post by NyuIwantu » Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:02 am

I've only worked for government but recently got offered a biglaw position. They want to downgrade my class year by two years since I don't have firm experience. I graduated in 2016 but they will pay me as a 2018 graduate. It makes sense to me, but is this standard?

Anonymous User

Re: Class year downgrade

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:19 am

They prob just want to pay you less, while testing your skills. I'd prob ask for just 1 year downgrade, to see if it's an option.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:53 am

NyuIwantu wrote:
Mon Jan 24, 2022 8:02 am
I've only worked for government but recently got offered a biglaw position. They want to downgrade my class year by two years since I don't have firm experience. I graduated in 2016 but they will pay me as a 2018 graduate. It makes sense to me, but is this standard?
This is common. I even have a colleague who took a class year hit lateralling from a V50+ to a V20 (why I'm anon). She/he told me the class year hit was good thing because it allowed for more time to (1) ride the biglaw gravy train before hitting the up or out wall and (2) work with more people to build support for partnership vote.