How long before I get let go? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How long before I get let go?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Dec 03, 2021 10:10 am

I've been at my firm for about 14 months months now, and I've gotten to the conviction it isn't for me. It's not that I hate what I do, I've just realized I'm not good at it. It's a worry I've had since the start, but I'm totally not detail oriented, I suck at taking notes, etc. I've realized this in law school as well and the only reason I did a decent job there is because I'm a fast thinker, can analyze things pretty well and can draw logical connections quickly, and am pretty good at writing. But slogging through a 100 page document and leaving comments on minutiae or listening in on calls and putting down notes (I'm ESL, which is another reason I might not be the best at it) is just not something I excel at. My mind totally switches off. I also have some solid social anxiety and in the future me leading calls is a thought that's already making me break out in sweats.