Any Advice on Job Search? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Any Advice on Job Search?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:36 pm

I graduated from a 14 law school without a job lined up back in May 2021. After the bar exam, I then applied to every relevant posting I saw and mass mailed to many firms. Although I have had many interviews these past few weeks, I haven't had much luck so far. It's now mid-October and most of my classmates have started working at their firms.

Nonetheless, many have told me that the market is really good right now and that Corporate practice areas are mass hiring. But, I don't see many postings for entry-level hires or first-year associates.

Thus, I was wondering if anyone has any helpful tips or strategies on how to proceed to find a job. My Law School's Career Services Office was not too helpful and discouraged mass mailing. I have mass-mailed firms and contacted their recruiters but I usually get told to just check on the firm's career openings page and see what's available or that they aren't hiring, and even then, most junior associate positions require at least 2 years of experience.

Does anyone have any encouraging words or advice to offer? Any positive words or support would also be greatly appreciated.

hdr

Bronze

Re: Any Advice on Job Search?

Post by hdr » Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:58 pm