TX Big 3 v NYC V10 Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Which firm?

Tx Big 3
69%
NYC V10
31%

Total votes: 54

Anonymous User

TX Big 3 v NYC V10

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 21, 2021 10:07 pm

I am a 3L and have to choose between two options (both corporate). I am an international student who will participate in the H1b lottery. Both firms will sponsor twice, so two shots at the lottery.

Option 1
Top Tx firm in its HQs (Houston office):
Pros - 1. hours are relatively reasonable (worked over the summer: hours def better than NYC biglaw). I have a family and would appreciate having the ability to be back home by 6 for dinner and logging back on.
2. I really liked the people there.
3. Houston sounds better for myself and family: more space for kids, lower COL, warmer weather.
4. Don't mind being pigeonholed into energy; have pre-law background in it.

Cons: 1. this firm doesn't have a strong overseas presence/name brand. If I strike out in the lottery, I would have to work in a satellite office for at least a year and then hope to lateral if returning stateside becomes difficult.
2. Visited Houston over the summer for a few days and really liked it. But for some reason, if we start hating the city, there may not be too many geographic options for someone with no ties to any other city in the US.

Option 2
V10 in NYC HQs:
Pros -
1. Top-notch training, highly rated practice group (being assigned a specific practice group, no rotation)