H-1Bs and Green Cards Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

H-1Bs and Green Cards

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Sep 09, 2021 2:17 pm

I'm an international student with a full-time offer from a NY V20, and I want to see what's on the table for me when it comes to possibly staying in the US long-term.

I know that many firms have H-1B policies in which they will sponsor/apply for the H-1B Visa at least twice: once during the OPT period, and, if that fails, once again while posting you to an international office. Green card policies seem to vary more -- in general, it looks like firms will begin sponsoring once you enter your third year with them.

It's been really hard to find information about this stuff, so I was wondering if any posters could chime in with their stories about how they navigated this process, and how they raised the green card conversation -- it seems like such a taboo subject.

Woods&Hills

New

Re: H-1Bs and Green Cards

Post by Woods&Hills » Sun Sep 12, 2021 10:55 pm

Kind of in the same boat. Please PM if you want to discuss more.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Sep 14, 2021 10:09 am

Latham will apply for H1-B twice as you described and will make an effort to move you to their London / Hong Kong / Singapore office if you can't work in the US while waiting for an H1-B.