Former V5/V15 NYC Associate Involved with Hiring; AMA Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Former V5/V15 NYC Associate Involved with Hiring; AMA

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 05, 2021 2:32 pm

Happy to answer any questions on big law recruiting. Thought I'd put this up given that recruiting season is almost fully underway.

My background:
  • I graduated from Columbia Law, if anyone has specific questions on that school's process.
  • I worked at two different big law firms in NYC (one V5, one V15). I was actively involved with hiring at both firms (one through a close relationship with the recruiting team, one through an associates' committee).
  • While I ended up in NYC post-graduation, I interviewed widely in California as well.
  • To be candid, I literally just left the firm life to go in house after 4-5 years, but was involved with hiring until the time I left the firm (so hopefully I can still speak some to this season).
Feel free to ask and I'll try my best to answer.

Anonymous User

Re: Former V5/V15 NYC Associate Involved with Hiring; AMA

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 05, 2021 3:09 pm

If you know the specific firm is looking to bring in new associates, what is the best way to go about getting an interview? Direct apply though recruiting? Grab coffee with alumni and express interest?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 05, 2021 3:09 pm

Previous anon: was referring to lateral hiring

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jan 05, 2021 3:31 pm