Should I leave my in-house gig to hang my shingle? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
JayDubya

New

Should I leave my in-house gig to hang my shingle?

Post by JayDubya » Sun Aug 23, 2020 9:40 am

I got hired out of law school to work in-house at a very large company. I’ve been there three years and I’ve hated it the whole time. I can’t stand the douchey corporate culture and I have no interest in what I do (and I’m not that good at either). That said, the pay and benefits are great (130k, four weeks off, no stress, maybe 20 hours a week of actual work max).

Lately I’ve been thinking of going to a PD or DAs office for few a years to actually learn how to practice law and then hanging my shingle. I like the idea of being involved in the community, owning a small business, talking to and helping real people, and really practicing law.

Should I do this or stay miserable and keep collecting my enormous paycheck to do nothing every week?

Looking forward to everyone’s thoughts.

cheaptilts

Silver

Re: Should I leave my in-house gig to hang my shingle?

Post by cheaptilts » Sun Aug 23, 2020 10:14 am

I vote for staying miserable and collecting paychecks for doing nothing until you literally can’t do it anymore.

sparty99

Gold

Post by sparty99 » Sun Aug 23, 2020 10:29 am

JayDubya wrote:
Sun Aug 23, 2020 9:40 am