Wanting to re-enter the law as an attorney Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Wanting to re-enter the law as an attorney

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Dec 25, 2019 4:07 pm

I'm posting because I'm in a bit of a pickle, career-wise.

So I graduated 6 years ago, from a T14 school. Landed a job in NYC Big Law, and lasted about 2 years at my firm. I didn't pass the bar exam the first time, and barely even attempted to pass afterwards, limping along at the firm with the dreaded "law clerk" title until I got the boot. It was understandable, since they were expecting and paying for a licensed attorney and I didn't put up my end of the bargain. I've always been a Type-A person who superseded all challenges before me. But this was a challenge--retaking the bar exam with everything I had--that I was just simply not willing to overcome, even with the huge salary as a sweetener. I took that as a message that I subconsciously really didn't want to be in the law, so I called it quits. I went into entrepreneurship and that venture went belly-up. So I then decided to go back to what I originally wanted to do when I was in college--become a public school teacher. I've been doing that for the past 2.5 years.

Suffice to say, after my experience in the non-legal world, I now want to go back to the law.