Biglawyer --> Software Engineer Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Biglawyer --> Software Engineer

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 23, 2019 12:24 am

Can anyone talk me out of seriously considering it? I am a V50 corporate lawyer in a smaller legal market with a heavy tech presence (think Portland/Seattle/Austin). I am kind of sick of the mindless paper-pushing that is my life and much of corporate law in general. Not sure if things will improve much if I go in-house (is mindless drudgery for 8-9 hours a day (likely at a paycut) that much better than mindless drudgery for 10-12 hours a day?). I'm looking for a job that is more intellectually challenging and still pays decent. I was a liberal arts major, but am pretty geeky, good with numbers (took a bunch of math classes in college for fun) and LOVED AP CS in high school (but for various reasons transitioned away from it in college and beyond). I fantasize about doing a coding boot camp or even going back to get a bachelors in CS. Anyone else have thoughts about this somewhat unusual transition? Is your average software engineer job at a reputable tech company just as much of mindless paper-pushing? Not gunning for Google/Apple here. Just any ~$125,000 gig (+ a working spouse) would be more than enough for me in this city.

Anonymous User

Re: Biglawyer --> Software Engineer

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:31 am