Biglaw V50 Practice Group Selection Help (IP v. Healthcare) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Biglaw V50 Practice Group Selection Help (IP v. Healthcare)

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:35 pm

Hey Everyone,

I'm a 3L graduating this May with a Biglaw job lined up in a major market thankfully. Before law school, I got a doctorate degree in the hard sciences with a slight lean towards health and public policy (sorry for being vague - trying to keep myself anon). I worked briefly but decided on the law school track instead. During law school, I split my courses/experience between intellectual property and healthcare to keep both options on the table. I also passed the Patent Bar Exam.

My firm sent out an email last week asking us to choose our practice group preference. I have a stronger interest in and am better suited for intellectual property but I'm concerned about the outlook for the field. I'm worried that biotech prosecution and litigation have seen better days and the work is drying up. However, I know that having a hard science background gives me a huge advantage.