Is it worth taking Patent Bar after law school? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Is it worth spending the money/effort in taking the patent bar after law school?

Yes
75%
No
25%

Total votes: 8

Anonymous User

Is it worth taking Patent Bar after law school?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:39 pm

I graduated law school last year, and I am hoping to move into patent lit, as I do not really enjoy my current practice area.

My question is this: Is it worth spending the money/effort in taking the patent bar after law school? Will it make me much more marketable?

Total cost of investment is ~$2k for PLI, ~$500 for registration, and ~200 hours of prep time.

jhett

Bronze

Re: Is it worth taking Patent Bar after law school?

Post by jhett » Tue Aug 21, 2018 8:49 pm

Don’t do it. The patent bar is only for patent prosecution and post grant work. You don’t need it for patent lit.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:35 pm

jhett wrote:Don’t do it. The patent bar is only for patent prosecution and post grant work. You don’t need it for patent lit.
True, you don't need it to litigate, but you can't call yourself a "patent attorney" unless you've passed the patent bar. I know litigators who've taken the patent bar expressly so they can market themselves to clients as a "patent attorney."