Patent attorney that could use some advice Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Patent attorney that could use some advice

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Aug 09, 2018 3:30 pm

I'm a sixth-year patent prosecution associate at an IP boutique in the mid-atlantic. It's a small firm and not one of the well-known ones.

To be brief, I've decided to leave my current firm partially because the work is drying up. I'm an EE for undergrad and went to a T3 law school (strong GPA). One big issue is that my EE GPA is extremely (and embarrassingly) low.

I have been applying to some posted positions at different firms recently and to my delight I get call-backs and initial/screening phone interviews but as soon as they see my undergraduate transcript I think that’s where the discussion ends and I don't hear from them for a second interview. I know that for patent prosecution your undergrad GPA and school is just as important, and for some firms, more important than your law school and GPA.