Clerk: Go back to old firm? That is the question... Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Clerk: Go back to old firm? That is the question...

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:27 pm

Hello,

I am a junior attorney clerking in a secondary market, which I worked in before and play to stay in post-clerkship. I am posting because I am driving myself nuts trying to figure out what to do after my clerkship. I still have a few months to figure it out. But would love any input.

Long story short: Before clerking, I spent 2 years at the main office of a well-respected regional firm (100+ lawyers at that office) that pays the going market rate here. While there, I formed really strong relationships in my department and received stellar reviews (both in terms of performance and fit), which they noted were unusually positive. In addition to that, I also formed an unusually close relationship a name partner who, while not part of my department, is still quite involved with the firm; in fact, he invited me to a local bar event and introduced me to other lawyers there as the "star associate" and expressed he hopes I come back. Based on that, I felt going back was a no-brainer. Things, however, don't seem as clear-cut as they used to.