Is Tax Law an Option for me? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
yuppy

New

Is Tax Law an Option for me?

Post by yuppy » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:16 pm

Hey all,

I'm an evening student about to graduate and I'll be clerking at Superior Court civil division my first year out. I always assumed that I wanted to go into litigation. This semester I took a class on Federal Taxes and surprisingly, I love the topic. I looked a little bit into the field and I think I would really enjoy it.

I am now rethinking my pursuit of a job in litigation and want to look into tax law.

My question is: is it too late? I haven't focused at all on tax classes, tax clinic, etc., and I have no interest in getting an LLM (I am evening student with a family and a job, and four years of school plus work plus family has been quite enough). What are my chances of getting a job as a tax attorney with little background in tax law? Are there any tips or tricks to get into a tax attorney job? My grades are good (not top though) and I attend Rutgers.

Thanks to all in advance.

nealric

Re: Is Tax Law an Option for me?

Post by nealric » Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:39 pm

I'm afraid without an LLM, your chances are low.