Difference between 1st and 2nd year Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Difference between 1st and 2nd year

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:01 pm

I'm a 2017 grad, at a large firm in a somewhat niche transactional practice group, only 1st year in the group. Only 1 2nd year and 2 3rd years in the group. 2nd year associate is getting pounded with work since November and still getting daily availability requests. Not sure how busy 3rd years are. I'm at <50% utilization and haven't received any availability requests for 2 months. I've asked around for work but people tell me there isn't much work to go around to 1st years.

The people I've worked with haven't had many problems with my work product (at least they haven't told me so) and I've received follow up work from them when logical to do so. No missed deadlines or properly asked and received extensions if I needed more time. I've asked for feedback after completing every project, but only get the usual "you're a first year, don't worry about it, you're still learning." Responsive to emails, phone calls, etc. Enthusiastic about getting and doing work. I.e. don't think attitude is a problem.

Should I be worried that it's night and day between the 2nd year and me? I understand there are things clients/partners just don't want me doing but is it normal to hound a 2nd year associate when the 1st year is very slow? Am I a just a paranoid stub/1st year?

Pokemon

Gold

Re: Difference between 1st and 2nd year